A Rant From an Idiot.

Articles

If you live in England, then you will know the news. One of our most basic human rights has been cruelly snatched from us. It’s something that will change our lives forever. I am truly disgusted, and I hope that you will be too. The England we knew is no more. We might as well give up now. It’s that bad.

We now have to pay 5p for a carrier bag.

I know. I was shocked too. Benefits Britain has got even softer. The government has caved in to these hippie nutters with their mad claims that animals have “rights”. But what about our rights? They expect me to actually shell out five pence for a sodding bag? I mean sure, I could get one of those ones at the back of the kitchen drawer that I never use, but the point is I shouldn’t have to. Some places even have the cheek to ask me to pay even more for a “bag for life”! The world’s gone mad!

I can’t just nip down to the shops any more. I have to actually stop and think. It’s ridiculous they actually expect me to do that. These shops are already taking my money, they’re trying to take my time too now. And yes, I said shops. Not supermarkets. It’s the bloody high street too. It’s everywhere. I mean, I’m willing to spend £25 on a cardigan. That’s no bother. It’s a good material and it makes my boobs look great. But then I have to pay 5p just to take it to my car? Madness. It’s an absolute travesty.

One of those hippies even tried to argue with me the other day. She said, what is more important? The plastic from carrier bags melting in the ocean and getting attached to coral (which is an important part of the ocean’s ecosystem)? Thousands of whales, turtles and dolphins that are injured or killed due to being entangled in or ingesting plastic bags? Millions of plastic bags in landfills all over the world, disintegrating into the soil and releasing harmful chemicals? Chemicals that contribute to global warming, and damage the soil and animals?

I laughed in her face.

Of course it’s the 5p.

(Featured image from 8thday)


© Kate Warren and Rebuild, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kate Warren and Rebuild with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “A Rant From an Idiot.

  1. No-one gives a flying feck about the 5p. It is whether it will be put to any use, or just add in a small way to the supermarkets’ profits.

    Like

    1. I work in a shop and I haven’t heard anyone ask or complain about where the money is going, only complain about having to pay 5p and how it’s too expensive and a cheek that they have to pay it. When I’ve explained that the money goes to unicef it hasn’t made a difference.

      Like

Leave a Reply

